Return to radio!

by malmskog

Exciting news for me!  Math, my constant companion, is reuniting me with radio, my old flame.  That’s pretty dorky, I know.  What I’m trying to say is that, starting now, I will be producing a weekly math puzzle radio segment for WESU.

My segment will be part of “Somewhat Science,” a show put together by Wesleyan students with guidance from Professor Suzanne O’Connell.  These students put together great pieces about global, national, and local issues and advances in science.  I’m adding a 7 minute or so math puzzle, which hopefully involves listeners emailing me with their solutions to my puzzles.  The listener who submits the best solution each week will win a prize.  I’m hoping for math t-shirts.  Maybe some other fabulous prize for this first week, since the t-shirts aren’t set up yet.  As I said, I am just thrilled.

In the spirit of alliteration, I think the segment will be called Mostly Math.  Or Much Like Math.  Or Mucho Math.  You get the idea, I’m sure.  In any case, you can hear it on WESU 88.1 FM Middletown, CT (or stream at wesufm.org).  Somewhat Science airs 2:30 and 3:00 PM Eastern time, on Fridays starting February 15.  Not sure exactly when Math Mostly will come on.

To answer a puzzle, send an email to me at mathmostly at gmail dot com.  The best answer as of production time for next show will win an incredible prize, as mentioned earlier.  I will be posting the puzzles here so that people can reference them, though hopefully we will get an actual show website put together in the next couple of weeks.

 

As for the rest of it, I really don’t know where to begin.  A stress and excitement filled chronicle of these winter months of job interviews and decisions?  An account of the incredible (and apparently really nice) students in my classes?  Ah, I don’t have time now anyway.  Suffice to say it’s been weird.  Will post a puzzle soon, but now I have to go to the radio station!   Hooray!